Celebrate Black History Month with these 28 additions to your media diet

by | Jan 31, 2018 | News

This year for Black History month, we’re shining a light on some really great people and organziations who are superstars and regular folks dealing with life, and inviting our followers to expand their media diets:

7 Podcasts

  1. Slate’s Represent with Aisha Harris http://www.slate.com/articles/podcasts/represent.html
  2. 2 Dope Queens with Jessica Williams and Phoebe Robinson https://www.wnycstudios.org/shows/dopequeens
  3. Larry Wilmore: Black on the Air https://www.theringer.com/larry-wilmore-black-on-air
  4. Stil Processing with Wesley Morris and Jenna Wortham https://www.nytimes.com/podcasts/still-processing
  5. Pod Save the People with Deray McKesson https://crooked.com/podcast-series/pod-save-the-people/
  6. In Black America with John Hanson https://www.npr.org/podcasts/381443555/in-black-america
  7. Truth’s Table with Michelle Higgins, Christina Edmondson, and Ekemini Uwan http://www.podasterystudios.com/truths-table/

7 Facebook Follows (Follow, don’t friend request!)

  1. AFROPUNK https://www.facebook.com/AFROPUNK/
  2. Very Smart Brothas https://www.facebook.com/verysmartbrothas/
  3. Bunmi Latidan https://www.facebook.com/BunmiKLaditan/
  4. Ijeoma Oluo https://www.facebook.com/ijeoma.oluo
  5. Jamelle Bouie https://www.facebook.com/jamellebouie/
  6. Bernice King – Be a King  https://www.facebook.com/OfficialBerniceKing/
  7. Real Talk: WOC & Allies for Racial Justice and Anti-Oppression https://www.facebook.com/RealTalkWOCandAllies/

7 News, Culture and Commentary Sites

  1. The Root https://www.theroot.com/
  2. Blavity https://blavity.com/
  3. The Grio https://thegrio.com/
  4. That Sister https://www.thatsister.com/
  5. For Harriet http://www.forharriet.com/#axzz55omsGbaX
  6. Rolling Out http://rollingout.com/
  7. NEWSONE https://newsone.com/

7 Blogs

  1. This Afropolitan Life http://www.thisafropolitanlife.com/
  2. Awesomely Luvvie https://www.awesomelyluvvie.com/
  3. Black Girl Nerds https://www.blackgirlnerds.com/
  4. TransGriot http://transgriot.blogspot.com/
  5. Chescaleigh https://www.youtube.com/user/chescaleigh/videos
  6. The Sophisticated Life https://thesophisticatedlife.com/category/blog/
  7. Redefine Enough https://www.redefineenough.com/

 

If you have any other great people and organizations to recommend, please join the conversation on our facebook page FB.com/TogetherWeWillUSA